Archived Story

Numerous awards given during 4-H awards program [UPDATED]

Published 9:16am Wednesday, December 5, 2012 Updated 11:18am Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Area 4-H youth and adults were honored at the annual West Otter Tail County 4-H Awards’ Program on Sunday, Nov. 18, in Fergus Falls.

The 4-H Program in West Otter Tail County remains strong and viable because of the caring support received by the many loyal 4-H volunteers and community partners. A special thank you to all the parents, grandparents and volunteers who contribute their time and talents unselfishly to their family, club and community.

Over 100 people attended the awards’ event. Congratulations to all the award recipients and nominees on another successful 4-H year.

The Friends of 4-H was awarded to three valuable contributors to the West Otter Tail County 4-H program: Stacy Holstrom, Mike Holstrom and Kayla Riestenberg. Presenting the award to the Holstrom’s was Greg Johnson of Pelican 4-H and presenting to Kayla was Linda Lein, Carlisle-French 4-H club leader.

The Daryl Carter Mentoring Award was presented to Lauryn Kugler, Sverdrup 4-H. Daryl’s family made the presentation.

Outstanding 4-H Adult Leader selected was Debbie Holmen of the Carlisle-French 4-H club as presented by Linda Lein, adult club leader.

Outstanding 4-H Junior Leader was Julia Holen of the Sverdrup 4-H.

Key Award recipients were Julia Holen, Sverdrup 4-H and Austin Sandmeyer, Dalton 4-H. Requirements for the Key Award: 4-H’er must be 16 years old; a 4-H member for 5 years and have at least three years of active 4-H youth leadership.

Two deserving 4-H clubs were the recipients of Outstanding 4-H Club: Nidaros 4-H (7th year in a row) and Sverdrup 4-H. Honorable mention was given to Amor 4-H and Carlisle-French 4-H clubs.

The Outstanding 4-H Family was awarded to Robert, Sheila, Dakota and Waylon Fossan of the Dalton 4-H Club as nominated by leader Melissa Fronning.

Outstanding 4-H Club Secretary was awarded to Rachel Johnson, Buse-Orwell 4-H. Honorable mention was given to: Krista Aasness, Dane Prairie 4-H; Hannah Cordes, Nidaros 4-H; Morgan Berg, Pelican 4-H; and Karin Mortenson, Sverdrup 4-H.

There was a tie for Outstanding 4-H Club Treasurer: Kristofer Lein, Carlisle-French 4-H and Katie Iverson, Dane Prairie 4-H were the co-recipients. Honorable mention was given to: Dawson Ness, Amor 4-H; Hana DeMartelaere, Buse-Orwell 4-H; Michaela Van de Streek, Nidaros 4-H; Maria Johnson, Pelican 4-H and Aaron Thompson, Sverdrup 4-H.

4-H Club Historian of the Year was presented to Matthew Lein, Carlisle-French 4-H. Honorable mentions were: Elli Johnsrud, Dalton 4-H; Marissa Roden, Nidaros 4-H; and Chloe Hanson/Mackenzie Thornton of the Pelican 4-H.

The Community Pride Award was given to Nidaros 4-H Club. The club’s project was to provide a bullet-proof vest for Zeus, the Otter Tail County Sheriff’s department K-9 dog.

The 2012 Junior League 4-H Softball Champion was presented to Eagle Lake/Amor 4-H. The 2012 Senior League 4-H Softball Champion was presented to Oscar-Trondhjem 4-H.

Editor's Picks

Hunt provides once in a lifetime chance [UPDATED]

“This is more deer than I’ve seen in my life,” Louis Leyendecker said. Louis had come out to help his grandson Jared hunt for deer ... Read more

Shortage of coal could increase utility bills

Otter Tail Power customers might face higher costs as several power plants face coal shortages. “Railroads are full with lots of things they have to ... Read more

Republicans in House vow to set the agenda

ST. PAUL — When the Legislative session gets underway in January, the Minnesota House will have 26 new members, including 21 Republicans who will be ... Read more