Archived Story

Pirates blow past Rockets

Published 12:55am Saturday, September 7, 2013

The Underwood Rockets traveled to Verndale and kept it close for the first quarter on Friday night, but the Pirates blew past the visitors with big scoring in the second and fourth quarters to take a 44-13 victory.

The Rockets gave up an early touchdown to Verndale, but would respond when Noah Thompson broke a 72 yard run for a touchdown. Because Verndale failed to convert after its first score, Underwood held its only lead for the night at 7-6 after a successful LeRoy Hauge PAT.

Verndale would tack on two more scores in the second and take a 28-7 lead into the locker room at the half.

Underwood only scored one more time in the game, on a four yard touchdown run by Jacob Mattfield with just under two minutes to go in the game.

Thompson led the Rockets offensively with 93 yards on nine carries and a score. Brad Winkels followed with three carries for 60 yards.

Max Kollar led the Rocket defensively with 12 tackles. Coy Thorson contributed seven and a half tackles to Underwood’s effort. Austin Rubink followed up with six and a half and May Biegler reordered six.

The Rockets travel to Wheaton next Friday to face off against the Wheaton/Herman-Norcross Warriors. Kickoff is at 7 p.m.

Editor's Picks

Poor conditions lead to fatal crash [UPDATED]

A snowfall this morning has created hazardous driving conditions in Otter Tail and nearby counties, leading to crashes in the area, including a fatal one ... Read more

Coming full circle M State official to retire after nearly 30 years

Carolyn Glesne’s first memory on the M State-Fergus Falls campus is modeling for an art class when she was in elementary school. The class was ... Read more

Driver tries to flee in handcuffs

A Wadena woman was arrested early Wednesday for DWI, and she tried to flee on foot after being taken into custody, according to the Otter ... Read more

Otter Tail Power names new president

Otter Tail Power Co. has a new president. Monday at Otter Tail Corp.’s annual meeting of shareholders, Chuck MacFarlane announced that Timothy J. Rogelstad replaces ... Read more