Archived Story

HIT basketball tourney crowns seven champions [UPDATED]

Published 9:58am Monday, March 31, 2014 Updated 11:58am Monday, March 31, 2014

Fifty-eight teams made up of 560 players competed in the Hillcrest Invitational Basketball Tournament in Fergus Falls over the weekend.

In it’s 48th year, the tournament once again provided exciting basketball action for fans in town.

In the 1A division, the Moorhead-Gusties defeated the Mt. Bethel 1 team 83-80 to take the championship on Saturday night. Players for the Moorhead-Gusties are Reid Ouse, Justin DeGrood, Tyler Grey, Tyler Kramer, Taylor Swanson, Taylor Filipek, Ryan Filipek and Jared Hoekenson.

In the 2A bracket, the HLA Alum 2 team defeated Ottertail 67-55 for the championship. The HLA Alum 2 team was made up of Danny Tungseth, Grant Stroud, Jake Stroud, Devon Apgar, Jacob Frick, Michael Dexter and Kevin Kuefler.

In 2B, the Send It Fliers defeated the Fergus Falls Bricklayers 56-50 for the bracket crown. Send It Fliers players include Taylor Brue, Andrew Hohncke, Cari Jo Anderson, Ahna Lacey, Ethan Anderson, Jenilee Bigaouette, Seth Anderson and Richie Martinson.

In 3A, LeSueur 1 defeated Bethel Elite 8 73-66 for the championship. Riley McGraw, Josh LaBarr, Joe Luna, Colton Nelson, Mark Johannsen, Andrew Vanravensway and Jordan Kahlow made up the LeSueur 1 squad.

Good Shepherd topped the 3A bracket with a victory over the Toronto Youth. Mark Tungseth, Dale Hexum, Kurt Frustol, Hans Holzner, Steve Brue, Brandon Doering, Dana Hare, Bryce Haugen, Nathan Doering, Javonte Tommerdahl, Ashwin Stratton, Seth Hexum and Conner Hexum.

Fergus Falls 1 topped Jamestown 1 in the Classic A bracket with a 62-58 victory in the championshio. Brad Christenson, Cory Reinertson, Justin Arneson, Jared Schultz, Jeff Schmidt, John Kilde, Johnny Walvaatne, Andy Larson, Tony Endreson, Matt Pence and Steve Moline.

Osakis Elim 1 took the top spot in the Classic B division by defeating Minneapolis 612 in the championship game. The Osakis Elim 1 roster included Stan Moore, Paul Quam, Mike Olstad, Luke Linz, Mike Collins, Nick Laven, Chad Schlosser, Chris Grove, TJ Hinrichs and Nathan Arens.


Editor's Picks

Dayton’s proposal would force addiction recovery program in Fergus to close

If funding cuts Gov. Mark Dayton proposed in his budget take effect, the Fergus Falls Community Addiction and Recovery Enterprise would lose its funding by ... Read more

MnDOT gathering bike trails input

Informational meeting coming to FF The Minnesota Department of Transportation is seeking public input on its Statewide Bicycle System Plan during a series of statewide ... Read more

Sertoma hosting 36th annual ice fishing derby

A few days of warmer weather won’t be a cause for worry for the 36th annual Sertoma Ice Fishing Derby and Raffle to be held ... Read more

Frostbite Fest kicks off

Will there be a bite in the air this weekend? One of my favorite events this weekend in Fergus Falls, Frostbite Festival, packs the weekend ... Read more