ST. PAUL — Stevens County Commissioner Bob Kopitzke has been elected to serve as a district director for the Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC).  Kopitzke will represent AMC’s District 4, which includes Becker, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Wadena and Wilkin counties, on the association’s board of directors.

“I’m honored to accept this position because it’s important that county officials across the state collaborate and work together as much as possible toward our common goals,” Kopitzke said.

AMC member counties belong to one of 10 regional districts around the state.  District meetings are held two times per year (usually in June and October) to refine the association’s legislative policy positions and provide valuable information on specific county issues.   District directors preside over district meetings, assist in the development of agendas, and invite legislators to participate and attend district meetings.  District director terms are two years, and each director can serve up to three terms in the position.

“We’re very excited to welcome Commissioner Kopitzke to the AMC Board,” AMC Executive Director Julie Ring said.  “His interest in working with others to find real solutions to common problems will be a true asset to the district, its citizens and the association as a whole.”


Enter your email address and select the newsletters you would like to receive.

Load comments