Column: From the Desk

Congratulations to Snoball King Joe Grecco II and Queen Katie Mach and to all the Snoball royalty: Seniors – Peter Anderson, Emily Haugmo, Nathan Zierden, and Rosemary Rundquist; Juniors – Greta Christenson, David Simonsen, Julia Kunz, Ryan Ratz, Isabelle Kremeier and Mason Hoffman; Sophomores – Carlie Meis, Brock Kotschevar, Madi Connolly, Matt Scott, Alison Hughes and Hayden Shol; and Freshman – Bianca Castro, Dallas Barry, Mallory Bergem, Logen Schake, Hannah Prody and Sterling Andrews.

Snoball Activities for the week included the following dress up days: MEME Monday, Throwback Tuesday, Denim Wednesday, Duo Day Thursday and Jersey Day Friday. Finding the medallion has become a great tradition where the winner receives $50 to the Otter Outlet! The first medallion clue was announced at the end of coronation. On Monday evening, the royalty was introduced at half-time of the varsity girls’ basketball game.

Tuesday was also Royalty Day! Following pictures, the royalty loaded the bus to visit PioneerCare and the Broen Home. Friday afternoon is scheduled with a teacher lip sync contest and Snow Olympics including boot hockey, basketball, sledding, clay sculpting, movie in the auditorium, dodgeball, along with open gym and open skating at the Community Arena. The highlight of the week is the Snoball dance from 8-11 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 3.


to Outstanding Otters!

During Quarter 2, the following students received Outstanding Otters awards: 9th grade – Connor Ackerson, Brandon Berry, Emma Koeckeritz, Elias Kolle,Jonathan Nordlund, Alexis Ouren, Brooklynn Priebnow, Katie Strommen,Noah Tarczon, John Vogl, Ava Weber, Allyssa Weisenberger, Eve Wickstrom; 10th grade – Jenna Aguilar, Mariyah Charboneau, Aliyah Harris, Parker Jacobs, Bryce Marudas, Brady Stadum, Izabel Tsherman, De’shaun Wallace, John Widiger, Jade Zierden; 11th grade – Samantha Evavold, Nycole Mouritsen, Madelyne Oswald, Lily Pearson, Hallie Sheridan, Madeline Trosvig, Tristan Trosvig, Allison Wahlgren; and 12th grade – Zachery Abramson, Lukas Andersen, Jaden Blondeau, Jakob Brimhall, Hunter Eldien, Tyler Hauge, Brady Heinen, Brady Hunter, Deanna Hurley, Marissa Marudas, Nicole Scott, Dillon Strommen, Logan Wentworth, Ryan Wilson, and Maxwell Wolfe.

Long-Term Facility Committee

The Long-Term Facility Committee met on Monday, Jan. 22 at the Heritage building (the old Pamida building on the SE corner of Pebble Lake Road and Highway 210 East) and focused on early childhood. The Committee agreed that this site would be better suited for early childhood over Roosevelt Education Center. The reasons: 1. There is room for expansion at Heritage to partner with child care and other early childhood partners; 2, The parking at Heritage is an asset; 3, The building can be remodeled for our needs — windows, permanent walls, bathrooms, an indoor and outdoor playground could be installed.

Overall, the committee is focusing on updating and utilizing our existing facilities. This would include remodeling the Heritage Building for early childhood and updating Roosevelt Education Center for additional classroom use. The next step is to meet with the Heritage building’s owner and an architect to determine the feasibility of remodeling the Heritage facility. The LTFC’s next meeting is scheduled for Feb. 12 starting at 6:30 p.m. in the Otter Community Room at Kennedy Secondary School.

Art show

On Friday, Jan. 26, 10 Otter Artists from the Fergus Falls High School participated in the 4th Annual MSUM Area High School exhibit and workshop day. There were 24 schools and over 220 students from Minnesota, South Dakota and North Dakota who participated. There were eight categories of mediums. Each category had a best of show and three honorable mentions and one overall Best of Show. The Otter Artists who took part were Jessica Zakaras, Sadie Marty, Nicole Scott, Emilee Solberg, Amanda Osmanovic, Andrew Balken, Christa Munsterman, Sydney Anderson, Lilly Stumbo and Zach Abramson. Congratulations to Zach, who was awarded an Honorable Mention in the functional pottery category! It was an outstanding day of art education for students and teachers. The show presented exemplary talent of artists and was sponsored by the Fargo Kiwanis Club.


Enter your email address and select the newsletters you would like to receive.

Load comments