From the Desk: By Jerry Ness

The Fergus Falls High School theater department presents its spring production, Leading Ladies, just in time for Mother’s Day weekend. Opening May 11 at A Center for the Arts, the story features two English Shakespearean actors, played by seniors Tyler Hauge and Thomas Bowman. “Jack” and “Leo” find themselves so down on their luck that they are performing Scenes from Shakespeare on the Moose Lodge circuit in the Amish country of Pennsylvania.

When they hear that an old lady in York, Pennsylvania is about to die and leave her fortune to her two long lost English nephews, they resolve to pass themselves off as her beloved relatives and get the cash. The trouble is, when they get to York, they find out that the relatives aren’t nephews, but nieces! Being the great actors they are, they become “Maxine and Stephanie” and go for the prize.

Romantic entanglements abound, especially when Leo falls head-over-petticoat in love with the old lady’s vivacious niece, Meg, played by Isabella Nehk. Leading Ladies is directed by Allee Nickolauson and runs May 11 and 12 at 7 p.m. and Sunday, May 13 at 2 p.m. Tickets are $4 for students and $7 for adults and available at the door. All performances are at A Center for the Arts.

Honors breakfasts

On April 25, the Seventh-grade Honors Breakfast sponsored by Glende-Nilson Funeral Home was held at 7 a.m. in the Kennedy Secondary School Cafeteria. To begin the program, the Middle School orchestra directed by Craig Peterson entertained the parents and students.

Congratulations to the students honored for their 3.5+ GPA:

Grant Ackerson, Jabril Anderson, Katie Anderson, Bowyn Arndt, Olivia Aschnewitz, Ana Blank, Karley Braeger, Mackinzie Brist, Brandon Brown, Dayson Buchholz, Jenna Carlson, Reagan Cheshire, Bailey Danner, Ashlee Donley, Ryder Drayton, Kasey Eggen, Cristina Ehlers, Avah Ehlert, Amelia Eide, Isaac Elliott, Joslyn Emery, Alyse Fiedler, Nicholas Flugstad, Charlie Fuder, Nadia Gray, Karah Gullickson, Kaden Haarstad, James Hajicek, Clarissa Heikes, Estella Herzberg, Jack Horgen, Megan Hughes, Madalyn Hulter, Alexander Jensen, Isaac Johnson, Jax Katzenmeyer, Aleah Keller, Cole Kimball, Hailey King, Avery Knutson, Landen Krause, Lydia Kunz, Ethan Leopold, Caden Litt, Peyton Marquette, Ian McCollough, Ethan McGuiness, Brie Mougey, Leila Nasri, Kylie Nelson, Jacob Newborg, Ariana Noplos, Birgitta Nycklemoe, Piper Olsen, Karolyn Papon, Sophia Pawlowski, Sloanne Petersen, Elliot Pribbenow, Yana Prischmann, Christian Reed, Delvin Roberts, Joseph Rogal, Elise Rogholt, Hayden Sanchez, Chloe Schake, Rebecca Schindler, Miah Schmidt, Aiden Shern, Solvie Smestad, Emma Stans, Abigail Strege, Caroline Stumbo, Benjamin Swanson, Oliver Thorson, Annie Trosvig, Olivia Trout, Matthew Tungseth, Marcus Voog, Randi Walls, Jacob Wandersee, Samuel Weber, Ava Werner, Jacob Widness, Alyssa Winter, Henry Wulfekuhle, Brianne Zachary, and Micah Zosel.

The 27th Annual Eighth Grade Honors and Awards Program, sponsored by the Middle School Student Council, was held on Wednesday, May 2. Principal Dean Monke welcomed the students and guests, while the Chamber Orchestra entertained the audience. Awards presented included: American Legion Citizenship Award to Alex Lindgren and the American Legion Auxiliary Citizenship Award to Ellie Colbeck, presented by Rick Wilson from the American Legion; Rotary 4-Way Award to Hannah Polejewski presented by Principal Dean Monke.

During the event, the outstanding Academic Achievement Awards were presented to the following students:

Bryce Adams, Avery Albertson, Piper Andrews, Anders Anthonisen Brown, Havanna Arthur, Emily Baker, Chase Barnum, Madelyn Boyd, Alexandra Brenaman, Gabrielle Brimhall, Jadyn Bye, Emilie Carlson, Ellie Colbeck, Kaden Conklin, Michael DeBrito, Amy Do, Caleb Ekelund, Chloe Engelhart, Anna Erickson, Norah Foreman, Kacey Fredrickson, Kellen Frigaard, Hope Goepferd, Aaron Gothier, Kiara Grady, Drake Habraken, Ainsley Hansen, Owen Hanson, Dillen Jaros, Tess Jaroszewski, Andrew Johnson, Connor Johnson, Gabriel Johnson, Marilyn Karsnia, Easton Keller, Adam King, Olivia Klaksvik, Gavin Knutson, Nevaeh Komestakes, Jeffery Krafnick, Mackenzie Krava, Helaina Kremeier, Owen Krueger, Haley Kugler, Erika Lahti, Sydney Langbehn, Jordan Lee, Alex Lindgren, Desirae Maack, Aiden Mauch, Ella Mayer, Katelyn Metcalf, Alise Moore, Rebecca Mortenson, Elizabeth Moxness, Madison Muchow, Talia Nelson, Rachel Nordlund, Dylan Obowa, Carson Oliphant, Lucas Oliphant, Grace Olson, Hannah Polejewski, Tori Ratz, Ella Reinhardt, Alec Richards, Samantha Robb, Benjamin Rundquist, Justis Sagerhorn, Benjamin Schierer, Luke Schroeder, Tess Seay, Samuel Sorum, Ellia Soydara, Aiden Striffler, Reagan Stueve, Shelby Tabbut, Benjamin Tollerson, Cole Wentworth, Elizabeth Wickstrom, Alexandra Zens, and Cole Zierden.

National Teacher

Appreciation Week

This week is Teacher Appreciation Week. The Fergus Falls School District is thankful for our teachers and the contributions they make to the education of children and making our society a better place. Please join me in recognizing our teachers for their hard work, patience and dedication. THANK YOU!!!!


Enter your email address and select the newsletters you would like to receive.

Load comments