From the Desk

The STEM students competed in the high mileage car contest and did very well – congratulations!! The E85 team made 14 six-mile runs and tied for second in most runs. The best run was 316 mpg and the average of top six runs was 302 mpg. There were 19 E85 cars total. When you factor in all runs, our students were second overall in the E85 class. The top E85 was 440 mpg. Students participating were Levi Danielson, Jack Bergren, Natalie Swanson and Weston Arntson.

In the stock division, one of our teams completed six 6-mile runs, with an average of 157 mpg and a best run of 162 mpg. This team included Layne Smith, Paul Dummer and Jacob Marvel. Another one of our students’ cars completed 15 successful 6-mile runs with an average of 170 mpg for their top six runs. Their best mileage was 175 mpg. The team members for this car included Will Pajari, Seth Edman, Mitchell Oswald and Dillon Strommen.

There were a total of 98 cars that competed in the contest. Each of our students’ cars completed the minimum of six runs that would allow them to qualify for awards. There were 39 cars at the contest that did not complete six official runs or any runs at all. So, a third of the competing cars did not even qualify for awards. Also, all of our teams finished in the top five in the design proposals that were submitted in February!

We also received several compliments, along with a phone call from the director of the Supermileage Challenge stating how respectful and prepared all of our teams were throughout the day. Once again they were tremendous ambassadors for our school! OAAO! Congratulations to the students and instructors – Mike Donaghue, Dennis Wutzke and Laurie Roder!

Yearbook award

Congratulations to the Fergus Falls High School Yearbook staff and advisor Josh Scharnberg for earning the National Yearbook Program of Excellence. Jostens stated the criteria for this award is extremely hard to achieve in a single year, with less than 3 percent of our 15,000 schools making that a reality. 2018 Senior Recognition Ceremony

On Monday, May 7, Craig Olson and Derek Abrahams served as Masters of Ceremonies for the Senior Recognition Ceremony. Following the Parade of Seniors, Nathan Zierden sang the National Anthem. During this annual event, many awards were presented to students from the Class of 2018 and listed below.

The Visual Arts Achievement Awards were presented to Zach Abramson, Emily Allard, Sydney Anderson, Rhiannon Garcia, Kate Jaeger, Morgan Jarandson, Paige Kort, Jenna LaPorte, Katelyn Mach, Marissa Marudas, Alexandra McKinnell, Eve Murphy, Hannah Murphy, Amanda Osmanovic, Will Pajari, Savannah Pelletier, Jessica Pistulka, Maggie Salwei, Lauren Schiefert, Nicole Scott, Layne Smith, Emilee Solberg, Morgan Walczak and Jessica Zakaras. The Outstanding Artist for the Class of 2018 went to Emilee Solberg.

The Theatre Outstanding Achievement Awards were presented to: Tyler Hauge, Thomas Bowman, Luke Newkirk, Emilee Solberg and Seth Edman. Choir’s Outstanding Male and Female awards were presented to Nathan Zierden and Katie Minge; Band’s Outstanding Male and Female Award went to Joe Grecco and Arianna Soydara; and the National School Orchestra Award went to DeAnna Hurley.

3.9 or above GPAs were awarded to: Cody Dauwalter, Staci Paskewitz, Clancy Oliphant, Nathan Zierden, Alexandra McKinnell, Grace Kelly, Hunter Eldien, and Sarah Huffman.

The Otter athletic awards included the 3-Sport Athletes (must have lettered in three or more sports their Senior Year) presented to: Will Prody, Noah Raitz, Jakob Brimhall, Lukas Andersen, Austin Stanislawski, Bradley Moxness, Mitchell Oswald, Nathan Zierden, Jacob Marvel and Logan Wentworth. The MSHSL Triple A Award went to Alexandra McKinnell and Nathan Zierden; and Coaches Association Scholarships were awarded to Camryn Appert, Sydney Albertson, Bradley Moxness and Noah Raitz. The Outstanding Male and Female Athletes included Camryn Appert, Logan Wentworth and Nathan Rund.


Enter your email address and select the newsletters you would like to receive.

Load comments