This fall the World Series returns to Washington, D.C., for the first time since 1933. That’s 86 years ago.

Franklin D. Roosevelt was in his first year as president of the United States.

The 1933 World Series took place 28 years before the Washington Senators moved to the Twin Cities, in 1961, to become the Minnesota Twins.

A new team was established in the nation’s capital, in 1961, also named the Senators. They operated until 1972 when the team moved down South to become the Texas Rangers.

Washington, D.C., did not have Major League baseball for 33 years, from 1972 to 2005.

The Montreal Expos moved to the nation’s capital in 2005, under Major League ownership, and the Washington Nationals were established.

Back in 1933, when they played in the World Series, the Washington Senators were an American League team. The current-day Washington Nationals are a National League team.

Griffith Stadium was used by the Washington Senators from 1911 to 1960. The Senators won the World Series in 1924.

Team president Clark Griffith led the team until his passing in 1955, when Calvin Griffith, Clark’s nephew, took over as team president.

Calvin persuaded the team board of directors to move to Minnesota for the 1961 season. Griffith brought with him star players such as Harmon Killebrew, Bob Allison, Earl Battey, Jim Kaat and Camilo Pascual.

More about the

1933 World Series

During the fall classic, 86 years ago, the American League Washington Senators lost the World Series four games to one. The champions were the National League New York Giants

Future American League president, Joe Cronin was player-manager for the Senators in 1933. Three years earlier he played shortstop and had an outstanding .346 batting average.

Another star for the Senators was Goose Goslin, He was a left fielder and well known for his clutch hitting. In 1928 he won the American League batting title with a .379 average.

The 1933 world champion New York Giants had a star pitcher, Carl Hubbell. During the regular season he finished with a record of 23 wins and 12 losses, with an earned run average of 1.66.

Hubbell won two games during the 1933 World Series, allowing only three combined runs in those two games.

During the 1934 all-star game, Hubbell struck out five future Hall of Famers: Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Jimmie Foxx, Al Simmons and Joe Cronin.

Wetlands preservation

a county board priority

The five-person Otter Tail County Board of Commissioners makes decisions on many issues.

One of them pertains to wetlands preservation.

On Oct. 22 the county board, working in conjunction with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, approved preservation of seven more wetlands in Otter Tail County.

Approved were two wetlands in Dane Prairie Township (north of Dalton), two wetlands in Aurdal Township (northwest of Underwood), and one wetland in each of the following three townships: Buse (south of Fergus Falls), Eagle Lake (south of Battle Lake) and Tordenskjold (southeast of Underwood).

The easements approved by the five county commissioners will protect wetlands and at the same time allow for haying after the nesting season. Landowners at the seven locations will retain access and will be responsible for weed control.

The easements will protect wetlands from draining, filling, leveling or burning.

Wetlands benefit wildlife by providing important habitat. Many kinds of wildlife benefit from wetlands protection, including waterfowl, other migratory birds, pheasants and deer.

Representing the federal agency during the county board meeting in Fergus Falls were Neil Powers, wetlands district manager, and Blake Knisley, realty specialist for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

County commissioners include chairman Doug Huebsch of Perham, Wayne Johnson of Pelican Rapids, Betty Murphy of Maine Township, John Lindquist of Dalton and Lee Rogness of Fergus Falls.

Tom Hintgen is a longtime Daily Journal columnist. His column appears Saturdays.


Enter your email address and select the newsletters you would like to receive.

Load comments