Several area football players were recognized with postseason awards recently.

Underwood football players Nik Gardin, Wyatt Thorson, Zane Swanson, Winston Heifort, Logan Aune and Tyson Rieken were named to the All-Section 6A team, while Heifort Thorson, Gardin, Swanson and Tim DeVaney were All-Northwest District, South Subdistrict. Honorable mention selections were Rieken, Aune and Slade Moore.

Thorson was recognized as the subdistrict’s Defensive Lineman of the Year, while Swanson received Offensive Player of the Year.

Rockets head coach Chuck Ross was named the South Subdistrict’s Coach of the Year.

The Pelican Rapids Vikings also received subdistrict honors. Making the team were McHale Korf, Liam Sytsma, Johnny Ziebell and Jayden Rutherford. Honorable mention went to Logan Fahje, Weston Funk and Nick Haugrud. Sytsma was also named the Most Valuable Offensive Lineman.


Enter your email address and select the newsletters you would like to receive.

Load comments