SEBEKA — The Section 6A – Subsection 22 boys and girls track meet was held Thursday with the top five individuals and top two relay teams advance to the section meet in Fergus Falls Thursday, May 30.

The Otter Tail Central girls’ team saw several members advance to the section meet.

Jorga Gabrielson and Grace VanErp each took home first-place finishes at the meet. Gabrielson  (2:29.32) took first in the 800 meter run for OTC, while Grace VanErp won the triple jump (34-07). Teammates Ally Hart (300 meter hurdles, 51.62), Amelia Blaskowski (high jump, 4-08) and Brooke Hovland (400 meter dash, 1:02.89) claimed runner-up finishes.

Also advancing for the Bulldogs were Grace VanErp in the long jump (third, 16-00.5), Hart in the 100 meter hurdles (fourth, 17.46) and high jump (fifth, 4-06), Becca Frederick in the 400 meter dash (fifth, 1:05.16), Erika Heibel in the 200 meter dash (fifth, 28.55), Mia Young in the 100 meter hurdles (fifth, 17.65) and Elane Frost in the 1600 meter run (fifth, 5:57.15).

In the relay events, OTC captured two firsts as the 4×200 team of Heibel, Hovland, Grace VanErp and Kylie Frederick (1:49.44), and the 4×400 team of Hovland, Gabrielson, Grace VanErp and Kylie Frederick (4:11.54) advanced.

The Hillcrest Comets saw sprinter Blessing Reeves advance to section in both the 100 meter dash (third, 13.03) and the 200 meter dash (third, 28.11).

Ashby-Brandon-Evansville also advanced two members as Aanika Anderson took fourth in the 400 meter dash (1:03.61) and Cailey Schlosser took fourth in discus (92-02).

The Otter Tail Central boys’ team took second at the meet and advanced 14 individuals and one relay.

Nick VanErp led the way for OTC with wins in the 100 meter dash (11.61), 200 meter dash (23.40) and long jump (20-05.5), while also finishing in third in the triple jump (39-10.5). Luke Bjorklund and Brennan Amundson also had first-place finishes with Bjorklund winning the high jump (5-10) and Amundson taking top honors in the 400 meter dash (52.16).

Also advancing as individuals were Eli Carlson in the 800 meter run (second, 2:02.63), Brady VanErp in the 300 hurdles (second, 45.46), Bjorklund in the triple jump (fourth, 39-05) and long jump (fourth, 18-08), Brady Scholten in the 800 meter run (2:09.04),  Hunter Doll in the discus (fourth, 117-01), Connor Drake in the 100 hurdles (fourth, 17.34) and Nick Carter in the 400 meter dash (fourth, 54.53).

The 4×800 relay team of Thomas Himmelspach, Scholten, Carlson and Amundson also advanced with a second-place finish (8:26.19).

The A-B-E boys would advance three members to sections.

Cade Carlson finished in fourth in the 100 meter dash (12.13), Elijah Anderson took fifth in the 100 hurdles (17.72) and Jake Rein was fifth in the high jump (5-08).

The qualifiers will now compete in Fergus Falls on May 30 in the Section 6A meet with a chance to advance to the Class A state meet.

Load comments